Lunch with Andy

My tummy was grumbling this afternoon and while reaching for a can of soup in the cupboard I couldn’t help but think of the recent exhibition Regarding Warhol: Sixty Artists, Fifty Years; the Met’s first large survey of Contemporary art. Unfortunately being currently located in Portland, Maine I did not see the exhibition in the flesh. I wish I could have not only because of my long love for Warhol, but to see if Roberta Smith’s mixed review in the NY Times held true; but enough with specifics of an exhibition I didn’t see and more on regarding Andy. Andy Warhol has continued to captivate our minds for many reasons from his aesthetically pleasing paintings that appease the tastes of young and old to his mod swagger and magnetic personality.

I know that I have a fondness for Warhol’s Flowers as many others do as well, but besides his art Andy Warhol was an outrageous guy. Take a look at this clip (posted below) from the extremely interesting documentary Painter’s Painting…I recommend watching the whole documentary as well featuring Robert Rauschenberg, Frank Stella, Helen Frankenthaler, and Jasper Johns to name a few.

Image

bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

