Damsels of Decoration: the prints of Marie Palmgren

With icy winds howling outside my window and snowbanks towering over my head, today was a day to stay inside and snuggle up with a cup of tea and browse the web for some interesting art! In my searchings I happened to stumble across the spunky prints of Swedish artist Marie Palmgren whose work is currently being exhibited at gallery Grafiska Sällskapet near Stockholm.

Image

I was immediately attracted to the minimal but striking color palettes of bubble gum pink, golden yellow, and cadmium red that sit dramatically against bold black lines. The flat, graphic images of women immersed in quirky patterns are reminiscent of Gustav Klimt and Henri Matisse. I absolutely love these little prints; they are extremely fun and I can easily imagine them hanging on the walls of my apartment looking absolutely fabulous. Palmgren’s prints were indeed a pleasant surprise on a rather dismal gray day. Perhaps the bright color and whimsical patterns will brighten up your day as well!

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

{Marie Palmgren}

Leave a Reply

