Cinco de Mayo and the Art of Mexico

Happy Cinco de Mayo to everyone! Whether you are of Mexican heritage or not; today, people thoroughly enjoy celebrating this holiday over margaritas and delicious Mexican food (I know I do!), but let’s take a moment to appreciate some amazing Mexican art as well. To be honest, embarrassingly enough, did I not only need a reminder as to what Cinco de Mayo was a celebration of (if you don’t remember or don’t know, this date is observed to commemorate the Mexican army’s unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862) I also couldn’t think of more than a few Mexican artists off the top of my head…Frida Kahlo…Diego Rivera…But now that I have done a little research I have been enlightened and my eyes opened to some beautifully amazing and thought provoking Mexican art.

And though I have only scratched the surface of Mexico’s rich artistic history, here is a sampling of some authentic Mexican art that explores themes of cultural heritage, personal identity as well as the country’s tumultuous past and present.

Happy Cinco de Mayo! enjoy!

Leave a Reply

